top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKibz

The “As If” Method

One of the worst fears I have is wondering if my kids’ lives are going in a downward spiral.



I never want to ask: “Where did I go wrong?




I’ve noticed parents who want the best for their children,



However speak to them “as if” they’re stupid


and how they’ll never amount to anything.


They throw their hands in the air and wonder how this could've possibly happened.



This method is a self-fulfilling prophecy


where the attitude you give someone can determine their direction


(As well as yourself).






Imagine a person’s competence level as a range from 0-100.



I speak to them as if they’re at 150.



I’ve seen people with speech impediments who are at 100,



however their relatives assume they’re at 50,



then they’re spoken to as if they’re 25.



Assume the higher number,



They’ll fill the void.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page